Music is the Food of the Soul

All my life, music has been there for me in times of crisis.

Sam Ripples
6 min readJul 15, 2019

I remember the first song that ever made my cry: “My Heart Will Go On” by Celine Dion.

As a child, I was obsessed with Celine Dion. Hers was the very first CD I ever owned and would listen on my crappy CD player while I walked to the bus stop with my older sister every morning in elementary school.

I always had to skip “My Heart Will Go On” because tears would roll down my little cheeks as I walked under the palm trees dripping with morning dew. I couldn’t help it. Something about that song just touched a deep node of my soul and pulled tears to my eyes.

Even now, that song still does something to me. In college, my roommates made fun of me relentlessly for my love of Celine Dion, but her voice got me through some of the roughest and most traumatic parts of my childhood.

All my life, music has been there for me in times of crisis.

As a teenager, I used to plug my headphones into my computer and hide beneath the covers. The tears would flow freely then, hating my life but not knowing any other way to process it other than finding myself in the lyrics of a depressing song.

--

--